How to Create a Vision Board for Success

As a young high school student, I wondered what my career path would be. I thought about becoming a lawyer or even a pediatric nurse.  But, lo and behold, once I got to college I totally changed the path I once dreamed about in high school.

Ms. Alexander, my CIS (Communities in School) coordinator, played a role in my change of career path. She thought I would be great in a career that I had no utterly clue about, the field of Mass Communications. My second semester of freshman year, I decided to change my major from nursing to Mass Communications. Looking back, I feel this is the best decision I could have made.

Fast forward 6 years later…I am actually living my dream of working in the Mass Communications field. Building brands has become my passion and I am learning to build my company by helping others build theirs.

As an entrepreneur, I have learned the importance of receiving brand recognition, whether its online social media marketing, booking interviews, and managing events.

So now, in 2016, I’ve decided to aim even higher. I have many goals that I would like to accomplish this year. And, my vision board helps me put them all into perspective.

Through this board, I have mapped out how I would like to improve my company and website content, gain more clientele, and teach other brands the ins and outs of PR.

Mapping out these goals helps me stay in line with my mission and the overall vision for Ashanti’s View and Clarks PR Consulting.

If you are an aspiring entrepreneur, it is vital to create a vision board displaying all goals for your brand. A layout of visuals helps bring your goals to life and makes it easier to understand the overall aspect of your brand.

I have a few tips on how to create your vision board.

Tip #1 – Start by jotting down words that describe your brand (many of these words you will find in magazines which you can use for your vision board).

For example, I used words like

  • creative
  • master
  • online marketing
  • trends
  • connect
  • elevate

These words describe the overall direction I would like for my site and company. I would like my site to discuss creative online marketing trends that will help clients expand their brand. I would also like to connect with more clients/brands and help them master great public relations.

Tip #2 – Pictures play a vital part in a great vision board. These pictures can be descriptive of you and your brand. These images should tell a story. For instance, my images include:

  • Oprah – I’d like to become as successful as Oprah
  • Social media icons – I can expand client’s online presence by having them accessible through the various social media platforms.
  • Computers/phones and a bag of money – I would love to make  millions of dollars, not only for myself, but my clients as well.

All of these aspects play a vital part in having a clear and precise vision board for your new year.

Tip #3 – Please remember while creating your vision board to give examples for each cutout and make sure these visions are attainable and not overly far-fetched.

This vision board will help your career and personal goals come to life.  We’d love for you to share your vision board with Ashanti’s view!

One thought on “How to Create a Vision Board for Success

  1. Good job on these post. Very descriptive and helpful. I actually need to make a vision board. I feel it’ll help out a lot.

Leave a Reply

